Blessed Be everyone! Long time no see!

Wow, things have been a whirlwind as usual. I can’t believe it almost the end of October. Where did all the time go and where was I? Samhain is fast approaching and then you know what the day is after. NaNoWriMo ! I am so unprepared that it is not even funny. I’m stuck between story ideas at the moment and thinking that I’m just going to eni-meni-myni-mo it if I can’t decide.

But enough of that for now…

The main point of this post (other than I missed everyone and a certain friend of mine keeps bugging me for a new post…you know who you are 🙂 ) is because of a video that I just watched on YouTube that made me a bit sad and also made me think a bit.

As some of you know, I’ve mention a wonderful woman in some of my previous posts named M. Flora Peterson aka CharmingPixieFlora. I’ve been subscribed to her channel for almost four years and she has been an inspiration to not just me and my mom but hundreds if not thousands of other. Her positivity and smile is so infectious that the next time something wonderful happens to you you’ll want to get up and shout “YAY!”

She posted a 35 minute long video to her channel, it peaked my interest because usually her vids are maybe 10 minutes max. But, what really got me worried was the title of this video unsubtly titled, “Good Bye”.  I watched it and I can honestly say that it broke my heart.

Now, Flora has her own business at http://www.mflorapeterson.com where she has courses and a placed to set up appointments for readings and spiritual coaching as well as a store with her books. But as many know, the web is a dangerous place filled with trolls and even Flora’s shield of positivity can be cracked as I learned when I watched her tell of all the hurtful things she’s been sent of people criticizing her for charging for her services and now she’s not sure if she’s going to come back to YouTube or not.

This is so sad because I love all of her videos and it would be a shame if they were taken down.

Dang trolls…

But I can see what the opposition is saying. Wiccan/Pagans have been debating whether or not it’s acceptable to charge for teaching classes or performing services for a while. One school of thought says it’s never okay because knowledge is something that should be shared freely at no charge to a student, because you can’t put a price on spirituality. The other group argues that it’s fine to charge because teachers need to make a living too.

I see nothing wrong with Flora asking for payment. If you go to her channel, she has over 300 FREE videos crammed packed with information and spiritual guidance for those interested in Paganism and Wicca, videos that she made on her own time because she wanted to share her knowledge. And because she shared her knowledge many people wanted her personally to teach them.

And sadly, our society today is driven by the ol’ Mighty Dollar and everything costs money. Supplies cost money and even time and energy costs money. Think of it this way, her vids on YouTube are Elementary through High school, free and don’t cost you anything and all you have to do it sit there and absorb. Then there’s college where you pay for your books and tuition and also the personal one-on-one time you get with higher learning.

Many people don’t understand the time and energy that goes into much of what many teachers do.  Whether it be a spiritual teacher or a high school one: the prep time, the supplies, weeks of stuff has to be planned out ahead of schedule. Not to mention the personal spiritual energy that goes into everything and that she is using her own supply of herbs and things that she had purchased for her own use, she is using in the name of others.

Now, though I agree that asking for money for supplies is okay, I don’t agree with some of the inflated prices than many so called practitioners ask for.

This is my own feelings on the subject and I hope that Flora will come back and keep sharing her wisdom with us. If anyone wants to know more on this topic, I highly encourage you to check out the wonderful blog of Ms. Patti Wigingtion at:

http://paganwiccan.about.com/od/wiccanandpaganrituals/a/ChargingForServices.htm

And give some much needed love to CharmingPixieFlora at : http://www.youtube.com/user/CharmingPixieFlora

And at : http://www.mflorapeterson.com/

Blessed Be everyone and I’ll see you soon 🙂

